diary entry 5

04/10/08

Since my officemate was hospitalized the other day, she didn’t come to the office the next day. So, I did all her work, which most of it, I was so clueless about. In the evening, on my home, my friend from the office called me on my cell phone gleefully told that she checked her account and saw that she had her bonus. Since I’ve been with the company for less than 2 yrs, I told her that I was sure that I didn’t have bonus, and besides, I checked my balance over the phone during lunch break and there was none to check… she said that she did the same, but in her surprise she had a bonus. She convinced me to just to check, after all, I had nothing to lose. So I did try. There was no queue at the ATM booth, there was only one person. I fell in line. I was the next person in line. But there was this pana who fell made his new line opposite from where I was standing. I’ve been using that booth for months now, and I was so certain that I was the one who’s waiting in the right lane. So, right after the first person was done with his transaction, I immediately rush to the machine. I inserted my card, and when I was just about to enter my pin, the machine shut down! I was a bit shocked and annoyed. And the usi pana repeated inquisition: ‘what happened, my firend?” didn’t help at all, but added up to my annoyance… The screen went blank to black. Panic surged through my veins. Then I felt a spark of hope when there was light again on the screen.. only to say ‘window’s is shutting down. Please wait’. haha… I waited for it to reboot. But when it did, it read ‘Please insert you card”… I was like, how could I do that if it captured mine! Then this epal pana, said let him try. He did. And then, weirdly it accepted his card and able to withdraw his cash and got his card back! I was annoyed. Since my house is nearby bank’s street, I went to my bank’s office, (It was already closed, but it has phone booths for their customer) to use their phone to call their hotline. I told the customer representative what happened and asked him block my card. He said they would just replace it with a new one which I can claim after 3 working days… (my name in my previous card read as: Myda Gracelee, I hope they would change it too…hehe) I’ll just wait till then…

so much for ‘I had nothing to lose’

04/11/08

Ptra. Jane announced after her message that she was leaving for the Philippines the next day. I knew that she was leaving one of these days, but I wasn’t aware that it was that soon. She said that she’d be back if God allows her to… I felt sad, but I know that it is God’s will for her to go back. She did her fair share of helping each one of us in her own way. All the things she said to me when we spoke are etched in my heart. I’ll use them as inspiration to not be afraid, keep my faith and move forward.

04/12/08

Was I being sensitive or was she just being the opposite? A person told me that I don’t look good on a particular type of clothing which I’ve been wearing for years… I’ve been comfortable with it… It is simple, I feel that I look clean and presentable whenever I wear them…and I honestly think that I never looked bad on it… I got really offended… Not with what she said, but how she said it… I kept quiet the almost the whole day. And she didn’t apologize to me knowing that she saw how my face changed from smiling to almost crying. The truth is, I really didn’t get that offended with her remarks. I know how I look. No matter what people say, I know I’m not ugly (I’m not beautiful either)! What upset me more was the fact that she didn’t apologize or take what she said back. But after a few hours, with the help of shopping (groceries), I was okay again. I didn’t make a big of deal out of it. I realized at the course of my shopping, that she is really like that. What she said, had not something with me, but with her perception of things…So, I just started talking her again.